Week 12 of the Midweek Music Club offers the perfect sun drenched summer playlist with a heady mix of psychedelia, modern rock, electro, indie and surf pop.

Rules apply…

#1 – Share with your friends
#2 – Make your friends share with their friends?
#3 – This is music sent to us, so good or bad, don’t be afraid to comment??
#4 – And never question why the feature is released on Friday, cheers




Baby Strange – Friend

The Glaswegian trio Baby Strange have been plugged into a similar vein of youthful exuberance in their live shows as self confessed fans Palma Violets, who they’ve already played a handful of shows with. Friend follows the release of their debut single Pure Evil back in May and will be released via Chess Club on September 9th.

Lizzie and the Yes Men – Unstoppable

London four piece Lizzie and The Yes Men return with new single Unstoppable. Recorded and mixed at Vatican Studios, London, the track was co-produced by William Rees from Mystery Jets. Describing themselves as ‘Tarantino surf-pop’, and drawing inspiration from bands such as Best Coast, The Ronettes ,The Beach Boys, Love and the Dum Dum Girls. Released on August 19th on New York label 100M Records.

The Vickers – She’s Lost

The Vickers are a quartet from Florence, Italy, influenced by the psychedelic big tunes and  sounds of the 60′s with a touch of 90′s rock. Their recent 7” single She’s Lost / All I Need was released May 14th (Cybertree Records/Foolica Recods).

Falling Off Maps – Honest

Honest is the new haunting single from Nottingham five piece Falling Off Maps from their forthcoming debut album A Seaside Town In Winter, which has been likened to sonic space as Radiohead and Leonard Cohen, Bon Iver, Death Cab For Cutie and early Elbow. Falling Off Maps’ debut single Honest is released 12th August through Square Peg Round Hole Recordings.

Claire – Broken Promise Land

Claire are a five-piece band originating from Munich, Germany, they combine grief, comfort, hope and melancholy in equal measure . Their grandiose new single Games taken from their new EP Broken Promise  Land set to drop in September is an emotion driven mid-tempo number with an orchestrated simplicity.  New single Games out now.

Flowers – Until You’re Dead

London three-piece Flowers draw a line between the joyous fuzzpop of the Pains and the minimalist brilliance of Young Marble Giants with their first single Until You’re Dead, released on Fortuna POP! in August.

Listen to the track Stuck here:



Aviv Geffen – Blackfield IV

Israel’s leading counter-culture rock musician Aviv Geffen returns in August with IV, featuring Steven Wilson and other special guests including Brett Anderson (Suede), Jonathan Donahue (Mercury Rev), Vincent Cavan (Anthema). Blackfield was started by Aviv and Steven in 2001 and have previously released the critically acclaimed albums Blackfield (2004), Blackfield II (2007) and 2011’s Welcome To My DNA. IV is set to drop on August 26th via K-Scope.

Filligar – Hexagon

Illinois indie-rock quartet Filligar have already been hailed as “one of the best young bands in America” and their latest offering is a more refined sound, making their release one of the most exciting modern rock releases of the year. They are set to release their new album in September 23rd through Decade Records.

Outfit – Performance

Liverpool quintet Outfit announce the release of new single House on Fire, due for release on 26th August. The track is taken from their forthcoming debut album Performance, which comes out on 12th August through Double Denim Records.

Outfit will be headlining Electrowerkz in London on 12th September.

written by

I'm quite awkward in person...
Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

google-site-verification: googled55e72c02a30ecd9.html